User profiles are the representation of your self, your community, and your activity on Intellogist. When logged in, a user will see their username in the upper-right corner of every page. Clicking on this username will open the user's profile .
Profile input sections
You can enter information in several sections:
This section allows users to tell a little bit about themselves. This section is not mandatory.
- About Me
As with all personal information on the internet please be careful what information you add to your profile. This information will be viewable by all visitors to the site.
This is the section that allows users to express more of their experience in the patent world. The fields include:
- Are you a current (or former) USPTO Examiner?
- Are you a registered Patent Agent?
- Professional Organizations:
- Social Networking Accounts (e.g. how to find you on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn etc.):
- Favorite search systems:
- Favorite non-patent resources:
- Favorite IP blogs:
- Favorite patent:
See Help:Avatars for information on the Avatar tool.
Users can set their email preferences from this page, and control whether they get notified by e-mail for certain events.
The following fields appear in this section:
- Technical specialty:
- Areas of interest outside technical specialty:
- Years of experience with patent information:
- Companies worked for:
The information displays in a similar fashion to the "Profile" section, above.
Recent Activity displays the most recent activities a user has completed on the wiki.
Stats displays count totals for various activities on the wiki (i.e. Main Namespace edits, comments, votes, etc)
You can becomes a friend of any other registered user on the site.
Adding a friend (or colleague)
Visit a prospective friend's user page and click "Add as Friend" (or "Add as Colleague"). You can add a personal message to your request. Your friend (or colleague) will receive a notification and email about the friend request, which he or she can accept or decline. If you receive a request from another user you must confirm the request using the link provided in the e-mail, otherwise you will not establish a relationship with that person.
Removing a friend or colleague
You can remove a person as a friend by going to their user page and hitting “Remove as Friend" (or "Remove as Colleague"). The other user will be notified of this action.
You can use the user board to communicate directly with other members. You can may choose the messages to be either public or private. You can send a message to another user by going to their profile page and:
- Clicking “Send a Message” or
- Scrolling down to the bottom right where their Board is located
- Clicking “Board Blast” allows you to mass-message all your friends at once
Social Profile vs. Wiki Userpage
Users have a choice whether to use this "Social Profile" or traditional "Wiki userpage".
New users and users who have not created a user page will have the Social Profile page set as their default. However, the traditional Wiki Userpage can still be accessed by clicking the Wiki Userpage link on the social profile page.
After a user establishes a wiki userpage, the wiki page will become the default page shown when others attempt to view their profile. The social profile can still be accessed by selecting the Social Profile link at the top of the profile page.
Users can change their default settings by clicking the yellow Use social userpage/Use wiki userpage button on the settings profile.